Easy Peasy on my eee asus 1000h

This netbook is really a nice, nice machine for work. A caveat: in Italy you can buy an eee pc by asus only with windows. Ok, I decided to buy it anyway for less than 400 euros (from CHL). Here I describe the steps I followed to be ready for work in just an evening. I launched windows and I said ‘yes’ to everything to get start. Then, the only application I launched was the eeestorage authentication from the desktop icon, so to get my 10GB of web space – from linux, I can use the web interface, which does the works as well. Then I downloaded the unetbootin app so to boot from a usb pen (my has 8GB). I had already downloaded the iso image of Easy Peasy (the ubuntu distro taylored for the eee pc) from my mac. Then I launched the unetbootin with the iso as the source and I got a tea while waiting.

Now I was ready to cut off windows and have linux. But… where is the BIOS splash screen?!? The manual told me to press ESC, and I pressed it. Nothing happened. Digging the web, I discovered that sometimes BIOS is hidden by the manufacturer, so I had to make it appear again pressing F2 before to press ESC. Hmmm. Ok, that was the most tricky part.
Then, in the BIOS I selected the “second additional drive” as the main one (it indicates the USB drive), and finally I proceed with a very standard, confortable, ubuntu installation (version 8.10, geek name: intrepid).

Everything is out of the box, save the following software, that I have installed apartly:

apt-get install texlive-full
apt-get install emacs
apt-get install xemacs
apt-get install gnugo

Texlive took really a while, so be patient! After having added two lines in /etc/apt/sources.list, I could install also VLC.

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/netbook-remix-team/ubuntu intrepid main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/netbook-remix-team/ubuntu intrepid main

The command is trivial:

apt-get install vlc

Now I’m ready to write papers with Latex and see movies with my new small (1,3 kg) netbook. What do I need more?

Leave a Reply

