My email policy until November

Dear contacts,

I have listened to a great talk by Luis Suarez at the International Enterprise 2.0 forum in Varese this week. And I have taken a decision, after his talk: I do not want to waste time with email anymore. Tomorrow ESSAP will start and it will be definitely a long week, and afterwards I have to concentrate on my PhD dissertation writing. So, until the end of November I will adopt a very strict email policy, that I describe here: the link will be in my email signature.

First of all, I’m unsubscribing to every mailing list I ever had, at least in my mind. So what? Simply I do not read anymore mailing list messages. If you have a project to take over with me, consider that wikis are far more efficient than mailing lists. You can open one for free at PBWiki, that let users have full control on their privacy policies, if you want to do so.

If you want to send me a document I should edit, don’t send it to me as an email attachment. Again, use a wiki or invite me to share a Google Doc, if you have to make a presentation collectively (I’ve just done it for the summer school with colleagues and it was great). Attachments are bad way to manage collaborative writing.

I do use only one blog, this one. I don’t want to waste time taking care to multiple blogs (It’s simply nonsensical for me; the only posts I publish elsewhere are about the permalink of this blog!).

If you want to share an experience, consider to write a blog post of your own and send the url via instant messanging to me, or, if related to a blog post of mine, write the url as a comment. You will find me quite easily via Skype. I own a skypephone, so I don’t need to be sit in front of my laptop. In that way you will know if I want to be interrupted or not. Sometime you will also find me at GTalk, but more and more with less frequency. In any case, I will tell you where I am, more than what I’m doing.

When I’m off line, you can find me for professional topics at LinkedIn (more frequently) or Naymz (look at this account, there is another one I couldn’t switch off!). For personal topics, look into Ipernity (especially if you are an Esperantist) or Facebook.

Last not least, I’m fond of books, so you can share experiences or suggestions through Anobii. That’s the only focused social network I take part. I won’t subscribe to any other social networks anymore, sorry. I think you can join one of the above, they are all quite popular and easy to use, and more or less translated in your favorite languages.

This email policy will last until November 2008, when hopefully I would have finished my PhD dissertation. Afterwards? Stay tuned!

Le mie politiche di posta elettronica fino a Novembre

Cari contatti,

ho assistito a un bellissimo contributo di Luis Suarezal Forum Internazionale Enterprise 2.0 tenuto a Varese questa settimana. E ho deciso di prendere una decisione, a seguito del contributo: non voglio più perdere tempo con le email. Domani inizia la ESSAP e sarà sicuramente una settimana lunga, dopodiché il mio tempo sarà assorbito dalla scrittura della tesi. Dunque, fino alla fine di ottobre adotterò delle politiche di risposta alle email molto strette, che descrivo qui: il link rimarrà permanente nella mia firma delle email.

Innanzitutto, ho lasciato tutte le liste di discussione, almeno nella mia mente. Cosa significa? Semplice: non leggo più quei messaggi. Se c’è qualche progetto che volete propormi, perché non usare un wiki? È molto più efficiente di una lista. Potete aprirne uno gratis su PBWiki, vi dà la possiblità di curare la vostra privacy in maniera molto dettagliata.

Se volete mandarmi un documento che devo modificare, non speditelo come allegato. Di nuovo, usate un wiki o invitatemi a un Documento Google, se dobbiamo scrivere una presentazione insieme (l’ho appena fatto per la scuola estiva ed è andata alla grande). Gli allegati sono un sistema inefficiente per la scrittura collaborativa.

Io uso un blog solo, questo. Non voglio perdere tempo su blog multipli (è senza senso per me; altrove pubblico solo link a questo blog!).

Se volete condividere un’esperienza, considerate la possibilità di scrvere un post sul vostro blog e di mandarmi la url con un istant messanger, o, se è correlato a un mio post, scrivete l’url nel commento a quel post. Mi trovate facilmente su Skype. Possiedo un telefonino skype, così non devo essere per forza seduto con il mio portatile. Così potete sapere se voglio essere interrotto o no. A volte mi trovate anche su GTalk, ma sempre meno. In ogni caso, vi dirò dove sono, più che cosa faccio.

Quando sono fuori linea, mi potete trovare per cose professionali su LinkedIn (più frequentemente) o Naymz (lguardate questo account per favore, ce n’è un altro che non riesco a chiudere!). Per cose personali, cercatemi su Ipernity (specie se siete esperantisti) o Facebook.

Infine, poiché mi piacciono i libri, potete condividere esperienze libresche con me o suggerimenti grazie ad aNobii, l’unica rete sociale a tema di cui faccio parte. Non mi iscriverò ad altre, capitemi. Credo che potete iscrivervi voi a una delle mie, sono tutte molto usate e facili, e più o meno tradotte nelle vostre lingue preferite.

Queste politiche di posta dureranno fino a Novembre 2008, quando spero di aver concluso la scrittura della tesi. E dopo? Restate sintonizzati!

Mia retpoŝtopolitiko ĝis Novembro

Karaj kontaktoj,

mi vidis belegan prelegon fare de Luis Suarez ĉe Forum Internazionale Enterprise 2.0 okazinta en Varezo ĉi-semajne. Kaj mi prenis decidon, danke al tio: neniam plu mi perdos mian tempon kaŭze de retpoŝto. Morgaŭ komenciĝos ESSAP kaj probable la semajno longos por mi, kaj tuj poste mia tempo estos dediĉiita al la verkado de mia doktora disertaĵo. Do, ĝis la fino de Novembro mi adoptos retpoŝtopolitikon tre striktan, kiun mi priskribas ĉi tie: la ligo ĉiamas en mia retpoŝto-subskribo.

Unue, mi lasis ĉiun diskutliston, almenaŭ en mia menso. Kaj do? Simple: mi ne legas plu tiujn mesaĝojn. Se ekestos projekto por mi, kial ne uzi vikion, kiu multe pli efikas ol listo? Malfermu senpage unu en PBWiki, la sekureco estas tre bone zorgita.

Se vi volas sendi dokumenton kiun mi devas ŝanĝi, ne sendu algue al retmesaĝo. Denove, uzu vikion aŭ invitu min al Gugla Dokumento, se ni devas verki prezentadon kune (mi ĵus finfaris pro la somera lernejo kaj funkciis perfekte). Algluaĵoj estas tute ne efikaj por kunverkado.

Mi uzas nur unu blogon, ĉi-tiun. Neniam mi volas zorgi por multaj blogoj, maksimume mi sendos la ligon al ĉi tiu.

Se vi volas diskonigi spertadon, konsideru la eblon verki blog-mesaĝon kaj sendu al mi la url-on per tujmesaĝilo, aŭ, se ĝi rilatas al unuela mia blogaĵo, verku la url-on en komento. Vi trovos min facile per Skajpo. Mi posedas skajpa poŝtelefono, tiel ke ne bezonatas sidiĝi fronte al komputilo. Tiel vi povos scii se mi volas esti interrompita aŭ ne. Fojfoje vi trovos mi en Gugla Babilejo, sed ĉiam malpli ofte. Ĉiuokaze, vi diros al mi kie mi troviĝas, pli ol kion mi nun faras.

Kiam mi estas eksterrete, kontaktu min pro profesiaj kialoj en LinkedIn (plejofte)Naymz (estas alia mia nomo, sed uzu ĉi-tiun, la alian mi ne sukcesis forigi!!). Por personaj aferoj, mesaĝu al mi en Ipernity (estas multaj esperantistoj ene) aŭ en Facebook.

Finfine, konate ke mi ŝatas librojn, konigu vian libran spertaron aŭ sugestaron per aNobii, la nura socia reto kiun mi partoprenas. Mi ne partoprenas al aliaj, komprenu min. La miaj estas multaj uzataj kaj facilaj, kaj eĉ tradukitaj en viaj favorataj lingvoj, plimapli. Kial ne registri?

Tiu ĉi retpoŝtopolitiko daŭriĝos ĝis Novembro 2008, kiam espereble mi finos la verkadon de mia doktora disertaĵo. Kaj poste? Vi legos ĉi tie!

Leave a Reply

